Black Applause Banquet to Feature Sanford Bishop and Local Honorees

Columbus State Universitys 22nd annual Black Applause Banquet on Friday, Feb. 25 will feature Congressman Sanford Bishop as keynote speaker and special recognition to the Controllers Civic and Social Club. Additional awards will be presented to outstanding African-American students at CSU and from local high schools.

A CSU tradition for Black History Month, the Black Applause Banquet will take place at the Columbus Convention and Trade Center, beginning with a reception at 6:30 p.m. followed by the banquet at 7 p.m. Tickets ($25 each) can be purchased by contacting Ray Lakes at 562-1654.

The early portion of the ceremony will be highlighted by a speech by Bishop, who serving in his sixth term in the U.S. House of Representatives from Georgias 2nd Congressional District.

Later, the 2005 Dr. John Townsend Award will be presented to the Controllers Civic and Social Club, Inc. for professional and community service to the Columbus/Phenix City/Fort Benning region. The award is named in honor of John Townsend, the first African-American student to enroll at CSU.

Among activities in its 25th year of community service, the Controllers Civic and Social Club provides shoes for as many as 600 Head Start children every Easter, caters Thanksgiving dinner to more than 100 disadvantaged consumers through the New Horizons mental health/substance abuse treatment center and conducts clothing banks for underprivileged children.

Other club activities include:
Communication skills workshops for church youth
Emergency assistance for local families suffering fire loss or other tragedy
Contributions to the Urban League, NAACP and YMCA College scholarships for financially challenged students
Nursing home visits in the Tri-City area
Assistance to the Annual Health Fair at the Columbus Civic Center
Participation in nonpartisan voter education and registration drives
Mentorship to local youth and adults

The Controllers Civic and Social Club has earned the coveted NAACP Image Award, proclamations from the mayors of Columbus and Phenix City and governors of Georgia and Alabama, and special recognition from the U.S. Congress.

In nominating the Controllers Civic and Social Club for the Townsend award, Congressman Sanford Bishop stated: This organization has given so much to our local area in service to youth and the total community that it would take volumes to enumerate. They have been recognized across the state and nation for their outstanding activities, including a Certificate of Special Congressional Recognition for outstanding achievement, service and public distinction.

2005 Black Applause Honorees

Dr. John Townsend Award

Controllers Civic And Social Club:
Eddie Roberts, president
Wilbur Simmons, vice president
Cleveland Harrell, business manager/financial secretary
Cynthia Abdul-Rahmaan, recording secretary
William Grimes, social director
Danny Whitehead, parliamentarian
Carlton Randall, sergeant-of-arms
Henry Byrd, chaplain
Potiphar Miles, community welfare
Stanley Wright, historian
Jim Willis, public relations
Theodrick Gamer, membership chairperson
Curtis Lewis, house chairperson
Edward Mullen, political action
Roy Croom, member
James Edwards, member
Josephine McClenney, member
Stan Rivers, member

Outstanding CSU Students

Verla Denise Stubbs, College of Education
Seanesta Robinson, College of Arts and Letters
Sylvester Seldon III, D. Abbott Turner College of Business
Michelle Yvette Jones, College of Science

Outstanding High School Students

Emmett Ricardo Mitchell, Carver High School
LaToya Simone Williams, Carver High School
Ashely Dennise Maignan, Columbus High School
Courtney Thomas, Columbus High School
Tyson Montoya Alexis Greaves, Hardaway High School
Maria Elizabeth Hunter, Hardaway High School
Brittany Cox, Jordan High School
Regina Candice Jacobs, Jordan High School
Quinette Quinerlyn Stafford, Kendrick High School
Veronica Lynnette Wimberly, Kendrick High School
Janay Nicole Roberts, Northside High School
Jatorience Jarrell Thornton, Northside High School
Derek Johnson, Shaw High School
Mercedes Parham, Shaw High School
Mariah Morris, Spencer High School
Vincent Joseph Mosley, Jr., Spencer High School
Marcus Crittenden, Brookstone School
Jeff Kinne, Brookstone School
Shade Y. Gladney, Pacelli High School
Teneisha M. Hutchinson, Pacelli High School


Contact: Ray Lakes, 562-1654; E-mail: