Columbus State Computer Science Professor Selected as Fulbright Scholar

Dr. Vladimir Zanev

COLUMBUS, Ga. — A Columbus State University computer science professor, Vladimir Zanev, will teach in Bulgaria next fall as a participant in the Fulbright Scholar Program.

Zanev will take a sabbatical from the TSYS School of Computer Science in CSU’s Turner College of Business and Computer Science to be able to take advantage of his U.S. Scholar Grant in the Fulbright program. He will serve as a visiting lecturer at the University of Mining and Geology in Sofia, the capital of the southeastern European nation.

Zanev, who joined CSU in 1996, is believed to be just the second Columbus State faculty member to win a Fulbright. In 2008-2009, a Columbus State associate professor of French, Cecile Accilien, won a Fulbright scholar grant that allowed her to teach American literature in the French-speaking western African nation of Burkina Faso.

About 15-20 Fulbright scholar awards are awarded to Georgia professors annually. Fewer than 15 Fulbright awards nationwide go to computer science faculty.

"It’s a great achievement, but not just for me," Zanev said. "It is exciting news. But it would not have been possible without the support from Dr. (Wayne) Summers (chair of the TSYS School of Computer Science), Dean (Linda) Hadley (Turner College of Business and Computer Science) and the provost (Tom Hackett). I am grateful to them to make it possible."

Zanev previously served on the faculties of Winston-Salem (N.C.) State University, the University of South Carolina, the Bulgarian Academy of Sciences in Sofia and at Sofia University.

Congress approved the Fulbright Program, the brainchild of U.S. Sen. J. William Fulbright of Arkansas, in 1946 to promote post-World-War II academic exchanges between the U.S. and other nations. Since then, about 300,000 faculty and students have participated, going on to become heads of state, judges, ambassadors, cabinet ministers, CEOs, university presidents, journalists, artists, professors and teachers. They have been awarded 43 Nobel Prizes.

# # #


# # #


Photo: Dr. Vladimir Zanev, CSU professor of computer science