Columbus State Men’s Cross Country Wins PBC Championship

CrossCountryAugusta, Ga. – No tiebreaker was needed for the Columbus State University men's cross country team as the Cougars won their seven Peach Belt Conference championship in program history and second in three years. The 8k race was held at Fort Gordon in Augusta, Ga.

CSU placed all five of its scoring runners in the top 20 to tally 55 points, 10 better than second-place UNC Pembroke (65). Flagler (100), GRU Augusta (104) and Armstrong (125) rounded out the top five.

Redshirt-junior Ryan McFall led the Cougar charge with a third-place finish, crossing the line in a time of 25:08.08, his best 8k mark of the year. For his efforts, McFall was named to the All-PBC team for the second straight year.

Finishing four seconds behind McFall was Cody Mallchok, whose 25:28.79 mark placed him in seventh. With his best 8k time of the season, Mallchok earned his first career All-PBC team selection.

Cordaryl Whitehead and Heath Lamb also picked up All-PBC selections finishing 12th and 13th, respectively. Whitehead ran at a 25:41.52 pace, while Lamb recorded a time of 25:46.57. Both Whitehead and Lamb set season highs for an 8k race.

Jaccob Mobbs rounded out the Cougars' top five with a 20th place finish in a time of 25:59.53.

Nathan Reeves (31st, 26:27.33) earned multiple pieces of hardware on the day, winning Columbus State's third consecutive Elite 15 Award presented by GradesFirst. The award is given to the runner competing in the championship meet with the highest cumulative GPA. Reeves was also named CSU's representative on the PBC All-Sportsmanship team for the third straight year.

Hussen Sadik (33rd, 26:33.01), James Slavik (45th, 26:58.84), Ian Edwards (63rd, 27:55.10) and Timothy Thompson (84th, 31:58.65) also ran for the Cougars.

Clayton State's Job Kemboi outlasted defending conference champion Corey Mundy of Flagler to win the individual title. Kemboi's time of 24:25.03 is the fourth-fastest 8k showing in PBC championship history.

Mundy was voted PBC Runner of the Year prior to the race. Armstrong's Henning Schein and Michael Sergi were named PBC Freshman of the Year and Coach of the Year, respectively.

Next up for Columbus State is the NCAA Southeast Regional on November 22 in Montevallo, Ala.

2014 Peach Belt Conference
Men's Cross Country Award Winners

Elite 15 Award presented by GradesFirst
Nathan Reeves, Columbus State

All-Conference Team
Job Kemboi, Clayton State
Corey Mundy, Flagler
Ryan McFall, Columbus State
Donny Barnes, Montevallo
Tim Sigmon, UNC Pembroke
Joel Johnston, UNC Pembroke
Cody Mallchok, Columbus State
Paul McNeil, Georgia College
Dillon Hodge, Flagler
Henning Schein, Armstrong
Nick Del Guercio, Georgia Regents
Cordaryl Whitehead, Columbus State
Heath Lamb, Columbus State

Christian Davis, Armstrong
Boyd Guttery, Georgia Regents

PBC Runner of the Year
(voted on prior to championship)
Corey Mundy, Flagler

PBC Coach of the Year
(voted on prior to championship)
Michael Sergi, Armstrong

PBC Freshman of the Year
Henning Schein, Armstrong

PBC All-Sportsmanship Team
Henning Schein, Armstrong
Tanner Thomason, Clayton State
Nathan Reeves, Columbus State
Corey Mundy, Flagler
Jonathan Reid, Francis Marion
Michael Warrick, Georgia College
Boyd Gutteny, Georgia Regents
Chris Pirrello, Montevallo
Tim Sigmon, UNC Pembroke
Jeremy Webb, Young Harris