Columbus State Tennis Earns ITA All-Academic Honors

SKILLMAN, N.J. – The Columbus State University men’s and women’s tennis teams both earned All-Academic honors from the Intercollegiate Tennis Association.

In addition, five student-athletes were tabbed as Scholar Athletes by the organization.

Maciej Kierkus and Martynas Zakaitis joined the trio of Beartriz Leon, Elena Preadca and Kirsa Utech on the Scholar Athlete list.

The individual honors are the first in each student-athletes’ careers.

On the women’s side, it is the third time in four years that the Lady Cougars have earned the honor and the sixth time under current head coach Evan Isaacs.

However, the men were honored by the organization for the first time since the team Academic Award was established.

Columbus State was one of only four Peach Belt Conference schools that had both its men’s and women’s teams honored by the ITA for their work in the classroom.