Communication Instructor Named CSU Educator of the Year

COLUMBUS, Ga. - Columbus State University has named Communication Instructor Mary Kirchoff as the university’s Educator of the Year for 2007-2008.

Mary KirchoffKirchoff, right, a CSU faculty member since 2000, received the honor during Friday’s Scholastic Honors Convocation. Other high honors announced during the convocation included the Faculty Service Award to Julie Ballenger, professor of botany; the Faculty Research and Scholarship Award to Johnny Ho, professor of management; the Faculty Cup, the university’s highest student honor, to early childhood education major Angela Williams.

Kirchoff teaches various communication courses including “Communication Law' and 'Legal Aspects of Employment Law,' which she developed with colleague Ric Long, presently a counseling professor in the College of Education. She has served on the board of the NAACP College Internship Program and has reviewed articles for the Journal of Behavioral and Applied Management. She also has presented and published research— more than 35 authored or co-authored articles — on both national and international levels. Extracurricular activity at CSU includes serving on the CSU Disability Council, on senior exit exam panels and as a host parent to international exchange students through CSU Center for International Education programs.

Ballenger, in addition to teaching for CSU’s biology department, serves as assistant department chair, assistant director of the Center for International Education and interim director of the Oxbow Meadows Environmental Learning Center. In 2007, she received the national Beta Beta Beta Biological Honor Society Outstanding Advisor Award, and guided her students to earning the national Lloyd M. Bertholf Award as Tri-Beta’s outstanding chapter. She also was instrumental in the department’s recent citation from the University System of Georgia Board of Regents as “Most Internationalized Department.”

Ho has produced a body of research in the fields of management science, operations research and operations management. He has published 31 articles in international and national scholarly journals and has 44 conference proceedings and 56 conference presentations to his credit. He serves on the editorial review board for the Academy of Information and Management Sciences Journal and has refereed 13 international and national journals.

Angela WilliamsFaculty Cup winner Williams, right, is a CSU Honors Scholar and member of Honoris Causua, Phi Kappa Phi and Kappa Delta Pi. She has taught children in Belize through a study abroad program and has volunteered for CSU outreach initiatives related to Habitat for Humanity, the Alumni Association’s “Lunch with Santa” fund-raiser and the Student Government Association Halloween Carnival for kids. She also has represented the CSU student body as a speaker at a recent CSU Board of Trustees meeting and other alumni and development-related events.

Williams also received an Honor Cord, along with other Honors Program students: Chelsea Bullock, Susan Musyimi, Lucy Bryson, Jessica Taylor, Amanda Eddins, Shawn Champion, Christopher Dills and Michael Kuralt.

CSU also presented its second annual QEP Writing Awards to faculty members Anna Flournoy and Chris Bloss, and students Michael Funderburk and Kathryn Brock.

Other top student honorees were Laura Nunley (Academic Recognition Award and Phi Kappa Senior Award) and Melissa Redwood (Phi Kappa Phi Scholarship Award). Convocation proceedings also recognized retired professors with faculty emerita status conferred on music faculty William Bullock, Harry and Natalie Kruger, John O’Brien, Rex Whiddon and Paul Weise (pohumous); and science faculty Thomas Hanley (geology), Jettie Lights (biology), Tena McQueen (computer science) and Mary Schild (psychology).


College of Arts and Letters
Art: Jennifer Lewis
Art Graduate: Nancy Presley
Communication: Alex Acton
Criminal Justice: Vanna Jordan
English: Lori Hinkley
English Professional Writing: Jessica McCallister
Spanish Award: Monica Melendez
History: Taylor Burton
Music: Robert Sharpe
Music-Presser Scholar: Mark Owens
Political Science: Patrick Larson
Political Science-Mion Scholar: Audria Crain
Public Administration: Ted J. Burzynski
Theatre Arts Award: Edward Zaboroskie
Theatre Arts Education Award: Lucy Bryson
Theatre Arts Design/Technical: Christopher Dills
Theatre Arts Performance: Kathryn Heffelfinger

College of Education
Early Childhood Education - Undergraduate: Angela Williams
Early Childhood Education - Graduate: Pamela Wetherington
English Education - Undergraduate: Christina D. Neal
English Education - Graduate: Kathy Honea
French Education: Emily J. Hawk
Spanish Education: Escarlata Dominguez
Instructional Technology: Andrea Humber
Mathematics Education - Undergraduate: Joanna Tinsley
Mathematics Education - Graduate: David P. Ross
Middle Grades Education - Undergraduate: Rebekah Tucker
Middle Grades Education - Graduate: Karen Harvey
Science Education- Graduate: Jessica Beck
Social Science Education - Undergraduate: Taylor Burton
Special Education - Undergraduate: Veronica Salas
Special Education Graduate: Kristina Burkhart
Health & Physical Education - Undergraduate: Chad Slater
Health & Physical Education - Graduate: Tamara Spann
Exercise Science: Brandy Thomas
School Counseling, M. Ed.: Jacob Crowder
Community Counseling, M.S.: Angela Minton Educational Leadership, M.Ed.: Shirley Perrymond
Educational Leadership, Ed.S.: Stephen Peppers Jr.

College of Science
Health Science: Heather Tommey
Environmental Science: Megan Wheeler
American Institute of Chemists: Tyrone Wells
General Chemistry: Hardeep Singh
Chemistry: Michael Johnson
Geology: Page Quinton
Pratt & Whitney: Heather Bradley
Physics: Heather Bradley
Computer Science Systems: George Khouri
Applied Computer Science - Undergraduate: Temidayo Yembra
Applied Computer Science- Graduate: Allan France
Psychology: Amanda Gesselman
Sociology: Charles Clifford
Mathematics: Bradley McQuaig
Nursing: Jennifer Sargent
Biology: Michael Winstead
Ecological and Evolutionary Biology: Christina Caldwell
Cellular/Molecular Biology: Melissa Redwood
Organismic Biology: Megan Kirksey
Biology Education: Keshia Whitmer

Turner College of Business
Accounting: Amanda Helton
Computer Information Systems: Michael Kuralt
Finance: Gedeon Velasquez
Management: Sherreka Burton
Marketing: Shenia Velasquez
General Business: Traci Rivera
Master of Business Administration: Paul Mazure

Who’s Who Among Students in American Universities and Colleges
Temicha Allen
Lacy Allmond
Jacob Anderson
Julie Arsenault
Latoria Bass
Karlie Bedgood
Tiffany Bozeman
Kathryn Bridges
Peter Carr
Rachael Darr
Jaima Dewey
Christopher Dills
Denise Fuller
Katarina Garcia
Anna Maria Giacobello
Meredith Gilbert
Jonathan Graham
Christopher Graves
Ruby Greenhow
Julie Hobbs
Amanda Holley
Kimberly Holley
Virlinda Holmes
Carisa Huggins
Courtney James
Ciara Jenkins
Amanda Jones
Vanna Jordan
Laveda Joseph
Elma Kennedy
Jordan Knoefler
Nina Kuei
Patrick Larson
Charles Mason
Bradley McQuaig
Tonia Medlin
Melissa Mills
Tikiela Mims
Brittni Mitchell
Isadora Moore
Susan Musyimi
David Owens
Mark Owens
Thomas Pearson
Erica Peterson
John Pope
Erin Quinn
David Reneau
Victoria Robinson
Kelsey Ross
Corey Salzman
Kathleen Schmeier
Alayne Simmons
Heather Smith
Shauntel Stancil
Tiye Summera
Margie Taft
Jacqueline Todd
Heather Tommey
Domonique Turner
Deanna Weede
Tyrone Wells
Lisa Wilcoxson
Angela Williams
Jeremy Williams
Rayla Williamson
Erica Winslow
Kevin Work

# # #