Criminal Justice Prof Named CSU Educator of the Year

Dorinda Dowis, associate professor and department chair of criminal justice, is CSU’s Educator of the Year for 2006-07.

Dowis, a CSU graduate and faculty member since 1994, received the honor during Friday’s Scholastic Honors Convocation. Other high honors included the Faculty Service Award to Dan Ross, professor of English, and the Faculty Research and Scholarship Award to Jeff Kaller, associate professor of art.

The Faculty Cup, CSU’s highest student honor, went to Nicole DeVries, a senior majoring in computer information systems.

Dowis, with a bachelor’s degree in criminal justice and master’s in justice administration from CSU, previously worked in pretrial investigation and supervised children as a juvenile probation intake officer for the Juvenile Court of Columbus. After joining the CSU faculty, she earned a doctorate in public administration from the University of Alabama. In addition to overseeing two full-time faculty colleagues and more than 600 criminal justice majors, she advises the student organizations Alpha Phi Sigma National Honor Society and Cougars for Christ. Additionally, she is in her seventh year as senior women's administrator for the CSU Athletic Department. In this role, she coordinates the Student Athlete Leadership Committee and helps facilitate CSU’s hosting of events such as the Peach Belt Conference Basketball Tournament and the South Atlantic Regional Tournament. In her nomination for educator of the year, students noted her service to the university as well as “dedication to students.”

Ross, who joined CSU’s Language and Literature faculty in 1990, is founding president for the CSU chapter of the American Association of University Professors and recently organized a statewide conference in Columbus for the association. He also has chaired the college promotion and tenure committee, directed study abroad programs, advised the Sigma Tau Delta Literature Honor Society, been elected to the faculty senate, and has chaired the largest department (Language and Literature) on campus.

Kaller, a ceramic artist, is cited as “an artist with a clear vision and a steady work ethic.” By invitation, he presented a solo exhibition of new works this year at the Rorstrand Museum in Sweden. He also has had works accepted into exhibitions in five U.S. states and four countries, and has lectured and served as a visiting artist in several venues around the country, including the prestigious University of the Arts in Philadelphia.

Nicole de Vries, of Columbus, will earn her bachelor’s degree in May with honors, having earned the HOPE, W. L. Amos and Mildred Miller Fort Foundation scholarships, plus the International Funds Scholarship, through which she participated in several study abroad programs. She is a member of Phi Beta Delta, Phi Kappa Phi, the CSU Dean’s List, National Dean’s List and Who’s Who Among Students in American Universities and College for both 2006 and 2007.

She also is the 2006-2007 president of the Student Government Association, past-president and parliamentarian of Phi Beta Lambda and president of Honoris Causa (CSU Honors Program student organization) and secretary of the CSU Jaycees.

CSU also presented the inaugural QEP Writing Awards to adjunct English professor Gretchen Nevins, Assistant Professor of English Stephen Levine and their students, Eddie Zaboroskie and Bethany Compton. This award represents the first tangible, publication-suitable writing product of the campuswide Quality Enhancement Plan initiative to improve student writing for the next four years.

The awards are based on winning essays from the English 1101 and 1102 courses First-Year Composition. “Reflections on 'The Marginal World’” by Zaboroskie (Nevins' student) and 'The Funeral Dirge of T.S. Eliot' by Compton (Levine's student) drew the honors.

Also, faculty emerita status was conferred on Don Cope, College of Arts & Letters; Olice Embry, D. Abbott Turner College of Business; Robert Fleck, D. Abbott Turner College of Business; and, posthumously, to Thomas Ford, College of Education.

English education major Sandra J. Shorey received the Academic Recognition Award and Phi Kappa Phi Senior Award went to biology major Amanda L. Bergren.

Additional CSU Honors Program students were recognized, including Contessa Bowman, Caren Bryant, Chelsea Bullock, Nicole de Vries, Mark Edwards, Sandra Gaskins, Anna-Maria Giacobello, David Moreno, James Ragins, Rachel Ray, Gwendolyn Reid, Jessica Taylor and Jenny Thomas.



Art: Joshua Shorey
Art Graduate: Ashley Kittrell
Communication: Megan L. Wilson
Criminal Justice: David R. Friend
English: Literature: Melanie Greenwood
English Professional Writing: Brent Debique
French Award: Erin A. Yelverton
Spanish Award: Danielle Mosby
History: Russell Pryor
Music: Stephen Enfinger
Music-Presser Scholar: Robert Sharpe
Political Science - LeGrande Boynton
Political Science – Mion Scholar: Jarvis Lakemaker
Public Administration: Emily Lakemaker
Theatre Arts Award: Rearcous Smith
Theatre Arts Education Award: Lucy Bryson
Theatre Arts Design/Technical: Christopher Dills
Theatre Arts Performance: Krystine Summers

Early Childhood Education:
Undergraduate: Amanda Gray
Early Childhood Education Graduate: Tracy Elliott
English Education Undergraduate: Sandra J. Shorey
English Education Graduate: Mary Burdette
French Education: Emily J. Hawk
Instructional Technology: Kristan A. Price
Mathematics Education Undergraduate: Laura Nunley
Mathematics Education Graduate: Andrea Bingham
Middle Grades Education Graduate: Rhonda Yarbrough
Science Education Graduate: Patricia Spenard
Social Science Education Undergraduate: Jessica Stephens
Social Science Education Graduate: Sandi Veliz
Special Education Undergraduate: Jody Barrier
Special Education Graduate: Tyler Carpenter
Health & Physical Education Undergraduate: William H. Davis
Health & Physical Education Graduate: Lydia L. Williams
Exercise Science: Jared Bruder
School Counseling, M. Ed.: Jennifer Lovelace
Community Counseling, M.S.: Shannon Eller
Educational Leadership, M.Ed.: Veronica Allen
Educational Leadership, Ed.S.: Richard Howard

Health Science: Heather Tommey
Environmental Science: Dorothy J. Cheruiyot
American Institute of Chemistr: Jamie M. Gonzalez
General Chemistry: Joseph Onda
Chemistry: Chelsa A. Brilla
Geology: Brian Woodall
Pratt & Whitney: John A. Garzone
Physics: Anna-Maria Giacobello
Computer Science Systems: Robert A. Warren
Applied Computer Science Undergraduate: Aymen S. Elawad
Applied Computer Science Graduate: Chad M. Andrae
Psychology: Alexis N. Wright
Sociology: Karen Richmond
Mathematics: Sandra Gaskins
Philosophy: Richard Lauer
Nursing: Catherine Johnson
Biology: Tiffany Taylor
Ecological & Evolutionary Biology: Melissa Craft
Cellular/Molecular Biology: Wesley Ker-Fox
Organismic Biology: Shanna J. Ryan
Biology Education: Shanna J. Ryan

Accounting: Lauren Heath
Computer Information Systems: Nicole de Vries
Finance: Derek Mann
Management: Edward Friend
Marketing: Alyson Minerd
Business Administration: Traci Rivera
Master of Business Administration: Samuel Styers