CSU Biological Honor Society Earns National Recognition

Third best in the nation thats where CSUs Mu Omicron chapter of the Beta Beta Beta Biological Honor Society found itself when it won Second Honorable Mention in the competition for this years Lloyd M. Bertholf Award.

The Bertholf Award is the highest award in the nation for biology honor societies, said CSU Professor of Biology Julie Ballenger. To be recognized as the third best in the nation is a tremendous validation of what our students have accomplished. As a winner in the Bertholf award category they find themselves in very exclusive company.

According to the national chapter of the Beta Beta Beta Biological Honor Society, Lloyd M. Bertholf established the award in 1961 to recognize, both locally and nationally, the chapter that most nearly meets a series of criteria for program excellence. The primary emphasis in earning this award is the scholarly activity among the members. Chapters that win the award, or either of the honorable mentions, have conducted biological research, presented their work at scientific meetings and have written and submitted their work for publication in a scientific journal.

Outside of their academic accomplishments, the CSU students of Mu Omicron also participated in events that included Help-the-Hooch, which was a concerted effort to clean up the Chattahoochee River, Habitat for Humanity, the Mayors Read Program, continued involvement in the Science Olympiad hosted by CSU and other regional events.

It really amazed me how committed our students were, not just in the classroom, or during their research projects, but also in their commitment to one another, to the faculty, and to the surrounding community. These students have taken control of their education and are determined to learn and experience everything they can while they are at CSU, Ballenger said.

The award was presented at Tri-Betas May 24-28 Biennial Convention in Melbourne, Fla. where CSUs Mu Omicron past vice president, Blayke Gibson, presented her research and accepted the award.

Since its founding in 1922 as a society dedicated to the understanding and appreciation of biological study, more than 175,000 persons have been accepted into lifetime membership in Beta Beta Beta, and more than 430 chapters have been established throughout the United States and Puerto Rico.