CSU Captures Intramural Basketball National Championships

COLUMBUS, Ga. - Columbus State University displayed national dominance in intramural basketball by capturing both the men’s and women’s titles of the National Intramural-Recreational Sports Association’s National Campus Championship Series for basketball held April 18-20 at Ohio State University.

CSU is the first school in the tournament’s 20-plus-year history to capture both the men’s and women’s championships in the same year.

The men, who captured CSU’s third national title in five years, topped Ivy Tech (Ind.) 72-52 in the championship game after defeating California of Pennsylvania (67-36), the University of Florida (75-52) and the University of Texas at San Antonio (65-53).

In the women’s title game, CSU defeated Miami of Ohio 62-43 following victories over Central Michigan (51-39) and Ohio University (53-52).

Coached by CSU Coordinator of Intramural Sports Michael Speight, both teams qualified for the final round by sweeping their divisional pool competition. The men topped Ohio University (60-42) and Cleveland State University (65-36). Meanwhile, the women swept Iowa (47-30), the University of Florida (48-39) and Ohio University (49-34).

For CSU individually. the national tournament’s Most Valuable Player honors went to Nicholas Malinowski (men) and Phebe Smith (women), while Ronald Robinson (men) and Trelanne Moore (women) were named First Team All-American.

The CSU teams competed in fields of 24 men’s and 16 women’s squads that qualified for the national finals by winning regional or state tournaments.

The CSU squads qualified by winning a Feb. 29-March 2 state tournament at Georgia State University. The wins marked the third straight Georgia title for the women and the second in three years for the men.

For more information, contact Speight or CSU Campus Recreation Director Rick Cravens at 706-568-2273, or go to the tournament Web site at http://nirsa-nibc.org.