CSU Intramural Team Wins National Championship

Columbus State Universitys intramural basketball mens team won their second national championship in three years this past weekend, beating Clemson 68-52 in the final game of the 29-team tournament.

The CSU team qualified for the national tournament by winning the state championship last month. The CSU womens intramural team also won their state championship game and made it to the elite eight in the national championship round.

Unlike the NCAA divisions, the intramural teams play against all colleges and universities, regardless of size. So CSU won their championship against schools that would traditionally conjure up images of athletic powerhouses, such as Clemson and University of Southern Mississippi.

Intramural coach Mike Speight, a member of CSUs student life staff, led the team this year, and when they won two years ago. Three members of the 2003 team two starters were part of this years team.

I knew we had a good team but to accomplish another national championship, its like a dream, Speight said.

CSU forward David Jackson was named the tournaments MVP. He and teammate Terry Washington were named to the first team All-American squad. Other members of the team include Ify Agbasi, Jared Clemons, William Crumpler, Akeem Frances, Andrea Jackson, TaMichael Jones, Prince Salmon and Kenneth Williams.

For more information, please contact Mike Speight at 706-565-3584.