CSU Now Accepting Submissions for $10,000 Literary Award

Columbus State University recently announced that it is now accepting submissions for the inaugural Donald L. Jordan Prize for Literary Excellence. Writers are encouraged to submit unpublished novels, collections of short stories, memoirs, or essay collections before the August 15 deadline. The winner will receive a $10,000 award and will be offered a publishing contract with a new imprint at Columbus State University, DLJ Books.

The award was created with a generous endowment from Donald L. Jordan, a Columbus author and businessman. The endowment has helped to create an endowed professorship in creative writing, a study abroad service learning program, and now the literary competition.

"Our contest is open to both established and aspiring writers but is limited to previously non-published submissions," said Jordan. "The prize is one of the largest in the nation and we expect to receive submissions from nationwide. We plan to establish a publishing arm of the university and it is my hope that under the DLJ imprint, CSU will become a viable publisher of quality writings."

Submissions will be judged by renowned novelist Rosellen Brown. Brown has authored 14 books including The Autobiography of My Mother, Tender Mercies, Civil Wars, Before and After, and The Lake on Fire. The editor of DLJ Books is Dr. Allen Gee, the D.L. Jordan Endowed Professor of Creative Writing.

For more information on the Donald L. Jordan Prize for Literary Excellence, please click here.