CSU Soccer Coach, Freshman Win Conference Honors

Although forced to share the Peach Belt Conference crown, Columbus State's women’s soccer team managed to claim a fifth of the slots on the All-Conference team as its coach, Jay Entlich, was named Coach of the Year.

Columbus State’s Kellie Myles won another individual honor as Freshman of the Year.

Myles, a midfielder, helped Columbus State to a share of the 2005 PBC Championship after leading the team with 13 goals and six assists for 32 points. The freshman from Fayetteville, Ga., made a mid-season switch from defense to midfield and is the first CSU player to capture a major conference award.

Entlich founded the Columbus State women’s soccer program and in just two short years has crafted a championship-level team. After a respectable 2004 season played largely with newcomers, Entlich led the 2005 Lady Cougars to a share of the PBC Championship with a 14-5-1 overall record, including 6-1-1 in conference play and, in the season’s final week, the programs first-ever Top 25 ranking.

Other CSU members of the 2005 All-Conference team as selected by position by the nine PBC head coaches are defenders Sarah Hawkins and Megan Honig and goalkeeper Monica Sanchez. Coaches were not allowed to vote for their own players.

Clayton State’s Olaitan Yusuf was named the PBC Player of the Year after leading PBC scoring for the second straight season with 17 goals and seven assists. The sophomore from Nigeria, is ranked 17th in the nation in goals per game and, in just two seasons, is already the conferences second all-time leading scorer with 51 career goals. She was named the PBC Freshman of the Year last season.