CSU Theater Department Earns Its First National Accreditation

The Columbus State University Department of Theatre has been granted its first-ever national accreditation by the National Association of Schools of Theatre for the following degree listings:
Bachelor of Fine Arts in Theatre Performance or Theatre Design/Technical
Bachelor of Science in Theatre Education

To achieve accreditation, the department began developing an exhaustive self-report almost a year ago. That work culminated in a three-day visit by the associations three-member accreditation team in December 2001.

Due to established procedures employed by National Association of Schools of Theatre, notification of accreditation was not received in Columbus until this summer.

The theatre faculty who worked above and beyond their normal teaching duties to achieve the coveted accreditation included Chair Hazel Hall, Assistant Professor Steven Graver, Associate Professor Brenda May, Assistant Professor Kevin Patrick, and Assistant Professor Susan Reid.

CSUs Department of Theatre faculty and staff are proud to be a member of such a distinguished organization and with the continued support of administration, this honor will remain with CSU in perpetuity, said Hall.


For more information, contact Hazel Hall, Ph.D., at 562-1596