Health Science Professor Named CSU Educator of the Year

COLUMBUS, Ga. — An emergency room doctor-turned-professor is Columbus State University’s 2011 Educator of the Year.

Dr. Paula Walker, an associate professor of health science, accepted the award during Friday afternoon’s 2011 Scholastic Honors Convocation on Columbus State’s main campus. Other top faculty honorees are business professors Mike Daniels for faculty service and Ed O’Donnell for research and scholarship. The Faculty Cup, recognizing CSU’s top student for 2010-2011, went to biology major Roma Patel.  

Dr. Paula WalkerWalker joined the CSU faculty in 2005 after transitioning to full-time teaching from practicing emergency medicine at Detroit’s St. John Hospital and Medical Center. With advanced cardiac life support among her specialties, she teaches graduate and undergraduate students in Consumer Health, Community Health Problems, Death and Dying and other courses for CSU’s Health Science Program in the College of Education and Health Professions.

Before completing a residency at St. John in 1998, Walker earned a medical degree from Wayne State University in Michigan after finishing undergraduate studies in microbiology at Howard University. Her career shift to education included a stint at Chattahoochee Valley Community College. 

She has developed an online course supporting CSU’s distance education initiative and serves as the pre-med advisor to health science majors, on the Graduate Council and Preprofessional committees, and she chairs the CSU committee for Who’s Who Among Students in American Colleges and Universities.

O’Donnell, a former aircraft and hydraulic industry project manager, has flourished as a scholar, with recent research published in the Journal of Management Studies, Marketing Management Journal, Frontiers of Entrepreneurial Research and others. An assistant professor of marketing for the Turner College of Business and Computer Science, his current research interests include international product strategy, sales management and inter-organizational business relationships.

Daniels, while teaching at CSU for 31 years, has served 120-plus institutional committee appointments. A professor of economics, he has produced more than 40 economic studies supporting educational, business, infrastructure and quality of life improvements in the surrounding community.

Patel was unable to attend the convocation, as she was in Huntsville to present her recent research into orthodontic rubber band toxicity as part of a regional conference of the Tri-Beta national biological honor society. A CSU Dean’s List regular pursuing a career in dentistry, she also has been active in supporting medical services to impoverished Costa Rican communities as local chapter president for the American Medical Student Association.

Other top student honors, the Academic Recognition and Phi Kappa Phi Senior awards, went to music majors Emily Vold and Amanda Beard respectively.

New faculty emeritus designees are retired or retiring professors Bill Birkhead (biology), Terry Norris (criminal justice) and library faculty Erma Banks, Callie McGinnis and Sandra Stratford. The award to the late Bill Chappell (political science), also part of this class, was presented to his widow, Delane, during a March 4 memorial service on campus.

The convocation also recognized students for outstanding research and creative projects, plus graduating honors scholars Kate Hargrove, Jodian Jenkins, Lasandra King, Jennifer Ross, Danielle Thompson, Emily Vold, Jarred Wiehe and Elicia McRae.

The following awards include recognition of top students in their academic programs:

College of Arts
Studio Arts: Mari Moore
Art Education, BSEd:  Kellie Henderson
Art Education, M.Ed: Virginia McCullough
Communication: Brandon Griffith
Music: Emily Vold
Music-Presser Scholar: Zachary Bryant
Theatre Arts Award: Hannah Carey       
Theatre Arts Education Award:  Dylan Bollinger
Theatre Arts Design/Technical: Abbey Dutton
Theatre Arts Performance:  Janine DeMichle

Turner College of Business and Computer Science

Accounting: Dena Colburn   
Finance:  Gina Sederstrom
Management: Charles Jordan
Marketing:  Miles Greathouse
General Business: Cale Wiggins
Management Information Systems: Amir Ansar
Master of Business Administration: Kevin Peoples
Computer Science: Charles Yates
Applied Computer Science Undergraduate: Aaron Myers
Games Computer Science: Robert Smith
Applied Computer Science Graduate Award: David Piper

College of Education and Health Professions

School Counseling, M. Ed.:  Lisa Zachringer
School Counseling, Ed.S.:  Tammy Pough
Community Counseling, M.S.: Justin Boccuti
Educational Leadership, M.Ed.: Scott Grimes
Educational Leadership, Ed.S.: Carol Mashburn
Curriculum & Leadership, Ed.D.: Kelley Taylor
Early Childhood Education Undergraduate: Nancy Porter
Early Childhood Education Graduate: Mollie Burdwell
English Education Undergraduate: Clayton O’Dell   
English Education Graduate: Shannon Williamson
Mathematics Education: Mikel Hill
Mathematics Education Graduate:  Terry Butler
Middle Grades Education Undergraduate:  Cynthia Newton
Middle Grades Education Graduate: Julia Gaffney
Science Education,Graduate: Brittany Moss
Spanish Education: Alicia Montijo
Social Science Education: Vanessa Lewis
Social Science Education Graduate: Chelsie Ingersol
Special Education Undergraduate: Lavinia Drew
Special Education Graduate:  India Eubanks
School Library Media:  Pasquale Davis
Health & Physical Education Undergraduate: John Mobley
Health & Physical Education Graduate: Anna Arp
Exercise Science: Quinard Webb
Health Science: Terri Strickland   
Nursing:  Annestasia Alderson
Nursing RN-BSN: Julie Legg

College of Letters and Sciences

Criminal Justice: Laurie Smithson
Sociology: Amanda Alexander
English Literature:
Jarred Wiehe
English Professional Writing:  Ashleigh Langfitt
English Creative Writing: Marshall Callaway
Spanish: Diana Rodriguez
French: Carmen Stancu
History: Erin Tyson
Political Science: Holly Partridge
Political Science - Mion Scholar: Morgan Hayden
Public Administration: Adam Johnson
George Stanton Biology Award: Nylvia Ware
Ecological & Evolutionary Biology: Cristina Caldwell
Cellular/Molecular Biology: Roma Patel
Organismic Biology: Lauren Neil
Environmental Science:  Alicia Garcia
Principles of Chemistry:  Ryan Meeks
Chemistry Major:  EunHye Claire Cho
Excellence in Research:  Michael Anderson
Geology: Jess Gilmer
Physics: Huirui Washington
Engineering: Corey Nettles
Psychology: Jodie Hood       
Mathematics:  John Bucholtz
Philosophy: Abbey Dutton
Psychology: Lasandra King

Who’s Who Among Students in American Universities and Colleges

Ausu Anaraki
Chantelle Bailey
Maegan Bell
Isabella Bond
Jason Brown
Joshua Brown
Kristin Burton
Freddie Connor
Mary Correll
Melanie Cox
Nicole DeVries
Amy Elkins
John Fitzpatrick
Liberty Gibson
Jodian Jenkins
Chelsea Lawrence
Jordan McKenzie
Laurel McKenzie
Breanna Miller
Saenya Mitchell
Mari Moore
Richard Pike
Vanessa Quarterman
Kayla Rea
William Reynolds
Amanda Roberts
Jennifer Ross
Heather Snyder
Kelley Taylor
Kory Taylor
Kelsey Williams