Inaugural Presidential Envoy Group to Represent CSU

Columbus, Ga. Columbus State University has named 15 student leaders as the first Presidential Envoys, a group of high-achieving students from across campus who will represent the university at some of its most important events.

The Presidential Envoy members represent a variety of majors and backgrounds. The primary purpose of this initiative is to develop future alumni leadership and to assist the Office of the President, the Office of Alumni Engagement and Special Events, and University Advancement. These representatives will give their perspective on the CSU student experience to trustees, alumni, and community leaders. The program also provides an opportunity for professional development in organizational leadership for these students chosen as Presidential Envoys.

“It is important that we remember and demonstrate that students are the focus of everything we do,” said CSU President Chris Markwood. “Our friends and donors love meeting our students, and these Presidential Envoys are among the best that Columbus State University has to offer.”

The student leaders will serve as the face of the CSU student body at a variety of events such as CSU Foundation Board of Trustee meetings, Tower Society Gala, Presidential Receptions, and the President’s Recognition Dinner & Scholarship Banquet. The inaugural group of Presidential Envoys include:

Jerry Cowell (President): Senior, Marketing Major and Communication Minor, Rex, Ga.

Hannah Kick (VP of Communication & Membership): Sophomore, Early Childhood Education Major, Hamilton, Ga.

Leah Seifu (VP of Leadership): Junior, Biology Major, Columbus, Ga.

Hannah Eubanks: Sophomore, Accounting Major, Columbus, Ga.

Stephanie Kolwicz: Senior, Health & Physical Education Major, Columbus, Ga.

Whitney Henderson: Senior, Early Childhood Education Major, Landover Hills, Md.

Abby Moore: Sophomore, Biology Major, Columbus, Ga.

Cassandra Paul: Senior, Marketing Major, Hiram, Ga.

Ruben Ramirez: Junior, Health Science Major, Columbus, Ga.

Lyndsay Richardson: Senior, Music Education Major, Bonaire, Ga.

Joshua Richmond: Sophomore, Art Major, Cordele, Ga.

Anju Shajan: Sophomore, Accounting Major, Columbus, Ga.

Mason Thiele: Senior, Management Major, Columbus, Ga.

Bailey Woodard: Senior, Exercise Science Major, Warner Robins, Ga.

“It is one of the greatest honors to be representing Columbus State University as a Presidential Envoy,” said Jerry Cowell, who was elected president of the group “I am excited to be able to give back to my university in a way that builds it up and allows it to continue to grow while establishing a closer bond to the student body.”