Nominations Being Accepted for Top Alumni Award

Columbus State University is now accepting nominations for the Thomas Y. Whitley Distinguished Alumnus Award, named after CSU's first president.

Approved in 1980 by CSU's alumni board, the award is considered the most prestigious award given annually to an alumnus. Nominees must hold a degree from CSU or its predecessor, Columbus College, and meet other criteria, listed on CSUs alumni Web site.

Nominations may be submitted until Jan. 31, 2007 by anyone interested in CSU. A nomination form is available online at the CSU alumni Web site or may be picked up from the Alumni Relations office in Richards Hall on CSUs main campus.

The recipient will be chosen by a selection committee comprised of the CSU president, chairman of the CSU Foundation Board of Trustees, executive officer of the Faculty Senate and the immediate past recipient of the award. Linda Hadley, dean of CSUs D. Abbott Turner College of Business and a 1980 graduate, was the 2005 recipient. The award will be presented April 12, 2007, at the annual Presidents Recognition Banquet.

Nominations may be mailed to: Chairman, Selection Committee, Alumni Office, 4225 University Avenue, Columbus, Georgia 31907-5645.

Thomas Y. Whitley served as president of CSU from its founding in 1958 until his 1979 retirement, leading Columbus College from temporary buildings to its permanent main campus.

For more information about the award, call Ray Lakes, executive director of the CSU Alumni Association, at 706-568-2280, or write him at