President’s Recognition Dinner Top Awards to Thomas Black, Janet Davis

COLUMBUS, Ga. - Columbus State University’s Alumni Association hosts its premier annual event to honor CSU alumni and friends – the CSU President’s Recognition Dinner – on Thursday, March 31 at the Cunningham Center, 3100 Gentian Blvd.

The event opens with a 6:30 p.m. reception, followed by dinner at 7 p.m. in Blanchard Hall.Tom Black

The Frank D. Brown and Leadership Excellence Award will go to Thomas B. Black, right, retired executive vice president of Tom's Foods, and Janet Davis, president and CEO of TIC Federal Credit Union, will receive the other top award, the Thomas Y. Whitley Distinguished Alumnus Award.

A retired Bradley-Turner Foundation administrator, Black has supported Columbus State for more than 25 years. He has served as a CSU Foundation trustee, including two terms as chair. He raises funds for the university as an Annual Fund volunteer, and he has led fund-raising efforts supporting student-athlete scholarships and the Schwob School of Music through his Patrons of Music and CSU Athletic Fund Board memberships. His leadership of the the Columbus Challenge played a key role in the music school’s 2001 relocation to RiverCenter for the Performing Arts, as $86 million from the community arts campaign funded the RiverCenter's construction.

A Baylor University graduate, Black’s broader community service includes service as past campaign chairman and president of the United Way of the Chattahoochee Valley. He presently chairs the Community Projects Foundation and serves as a trustee of Brookstone School and the Walter Allen Richards Foundation. He’s also a deacon at First Baptist Church in Columbus.

Under Davis, left, TIC assets increased $152 million during her 19-year tenure. She also has directed a transformation and expansion of the credit union into innovative banking centers for its 40,000 members in Georgia and Alabama.

A 1981 CSU business administration graduate, Davis has earned a Professional of the Year Award from the National Association of Federal Credit Unions, a Moses C. Davis Professional of the Year honor from Georgia Credit Unions Association and, recently, a Lifetime Achievement Award from GCUA. Davis’ support of CSU has included service on the Alumni Association, Athletic Fund and Advisory boards of directors.

Also during the dinner, honorary alumnus designations will go to local community leaders and CSU supporters Martha K. Cunningham, T. Samuel Rawls Jr. and Sherry Wade.

John Barwick III, with a CSU bachelor’s degree in accounting (1973), will receive an Alumni Service Award.

Thursday, March 24 is the reservation deadline for the President’s Recognition Dinner.

Tickets are $60 per person and can be ordered via the Columbus State Alumni Relations website,, or call 706-507-8956.